The 2011 Wolfe Award Nominees Are Announced

Each year the premier fan club for Rex Stout and his mystery series starring Nero Wolfe and Archie Goodwin, The Wolfe Pack,  have a banquet honoring those who have written a crime novel most in the style and spirit as a Nero Wolfe title. The lucky winner receives the Wolfe Award. Here are this year’s nominees.

Ice Cold by Tess Gerritsen (Ballantine Books)

The Book of Spies by Gayle Lynds (St. Martin’s Press)

Bury Your Dead  by Louise Penny (Minotaur Books) (I can’t figure out why this title has a line through it–I tried everything, and can’t remove it–please ignore)

The Midnight Show Murders

 by Al Roker and Dick Lochte  (Delacorte) 

Think of a Number by John Verdon (Crown)

I’m familiar with 4 of the 5, some not yet read, but I can’t help but question, how much did Al Roker write? Ok, maybe he threw in some weather pointers, but is this a case where the ghost writer is seen, but not heard?  Dick Lochte is listed as a co-author, which is usually code for, I wrote this, but this guy is more famous. But, I’ll not assume, because as you know it makes a ‘blank’ out of me. LOL.

From Mystery Scene Magazine–“The Wolfe Pack, founded in 1977, is a forum to discuss, explore, and enjoy the 72 Nero Wolfe books and novellas written by Rex Stout. The organization has more than 450 members worldwide.”

I’ve never been to the banquet, called The Black Orchid after a Stout title, but good friends who used to own an independent mystery bookstore of the same name went yearly, and loved it, naturally. I’m thinking it must be huge fun!

To learn more about The Wolfe Pack and their activities, how to join, etc. visit their website: