Few movie series have captured the imagination of the human mind as well as the Harry Potter movies. Based upon the books written by J.K. Rowling these movies have grossed millions of dollars and appeal to viewers of all age groups in every demographic. In fact, many fans entranced by the books have flocked to every movie release making this series one of the most successful of all time. The movies have been released in the same order and with the same titles as the books; here now is our list of Harry Potter books in order that they were released (with some commentary).

To start with, in 2001 Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone was released and began with the main character Harry living with his relatives in their broom closet. Hagrid the giant finds Harry and introduces him to the school Hogwarts that is a school only for witches and wizards. Centering on his time spent in school, Harry learns of his archenemy Voldermort who is continuing in the search to kill him.

After his first year at Hogwarts is a success, the Chamber of Secrets comes along and leads viewers through an adventure in which Harry is thrown into a school on edge as mysterious occurrences are being silenced by the heads of the school. It turns out the Chamber of Secrets has been opened and our hero must uncover the truth before Hogwarts is forced to close for good.

List of Harry Potter MoviesIn Harry’s third year at Hogwarts, he comes in contact with his long imprisoned uncle Sirius Black. This is what sets the title as Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. The story focuses on the search for the escaped criminal Black who viewers come to learn is actually innocent and as such was able to stay sane through the terrible magical prison. Harry must come to terms with his own past however in order to battle dementors who have been put in charge of school security.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire is in the Harry Potter movies and takes place in a variety of locations. Our hero is ecstatic when he receives tickets to the Quidditch World Cup, but the event ends poorly when Death Eaters show up and ruin the Cup. Shortly after, it becomes known that Hogwarts will be hosting the Triwizard Tournament and despite the age restriction, Harry is chosen to compete in the event. The tourney consists of three exceedingly difficult tasks, which must be overcome, and the winner will be decided.

In Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, we find the main character returning from a drab summer into a world that does not believe the truth that Voldermort is back. To make matters worse, a new defense against the dark arts teacher is appointed who puts the Hero squarely in her sights and decides to make life miserable for everybody involved forcing the trio of friends to create a secret group called Dumbledore’s Army to learn true defense tactics.

In the sixth and second to last year at Hogwarts Harry is forced to learn how to combat Voldermort in Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince. A book is found that teaches Harry how to excel at Potions, a class in which he has always struggled and teaches both good and dangerous potions. Through his teachings though, Harry learns the true weakness of the Dark Lord and finally a race begins to truly end the evil in the wizarding world for the last time.

The most recent movie made based around the last book of the series is actually being released in two parts. The first part, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1 reveals the race against time to destroy all the Horcruxes. In doing so, the three most powerful objects known to the wide world of wizarding come to light and little hope seems to remain for the trio. Harry is finally captured by the forces of evil but once again escapes with the help of Dobby and the movie ends with the hero on the beach performing burial services and Voldermort taking the Elder Wand.

To Recap – Here is the bare bones List of Harry Potter Movies in Order – with links to IMDB, the Internet Movie Database so that you can read all of the details of the Harry Potter movies:

  1. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (2001)
  2. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (2002)
  3. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (2004)
  4. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (2005)
  5. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (2007)
  6. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (2009)
  7. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1 (2010)
  8. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 (2011)

Overall, the Harry Potter movies have surely made their mark on the film industry. With breath taking landscapes and excellent fight scenes, these are truly movies for all ages. Both fans and critics seem to greatly enjoy an escape to the wizarding world and the final film is sure to be just as good as all the rest.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *